About Us





Maritime Resources

Contact Us

The John E. Babiarz Maritime Award is an award that was created in 1999 to recognize a deserving individual who has made a significant contribution to the Port of Wilmington, taking into account all aspects of the Port’s activities and contributions to Delaware’s economy and its citizens.

Award Recipients:

Hick Rowland

Wilmington Tug, Inc. 1999
Edward J. Freel Department of State 2000
Dennis Rochford Maritime Exchange for the
Delaware River & Bay

Mark E. Murphy

Murphy Marine Services, Inc. 2002
Robert Senseny Diamond State Port Corporation 2003
Joan Lyons Seamen’s Center of Wilmington 2004
Dennis Kelly Dole Fresh Fruit Company 2005
Nathan Hayward III Secretary of Transportation 2006
Senator Andrew G. Knox State of Delaware 2007
Capt. Harry H. Rowland Wilmington Tug, Inc 2008
Arthur “Skinny” Wilson I.L.A. Local 1694 2009
Alan Levin Delaware Economic Development Office 2010
William A. Corbishley Seamen’s Center of Wilmington 2011
Governor Jack Markell State of Delaware 2012
James B. Thomas, Sr. Port Contractors, Inc. 2013
Charles J. Myers US Army Corps of Engineers 2014
Thomas B. Keefer Diamond State Port Corporation 2015
Patrick Cooke I.L.A. Local 1694 2016


P.O. Box 9744 - Wilmington, DE 19809 - Ph 302-656-7000